Articles Tagged with record

DSC02173
Did you know you can be charged with a misdemeanor and be required to go to court if you are pulled over for speeding? If you are going 26 miles over any posted speed limit, you have committed a crime under Illinois law. While it may sound like a silly, small law, it can have a major impact on your life and can even require jail time. If you are facing criminal speeding charges, it is important to hire an experienced criminal traffic defense attorney.

Illinois Law

It used to be that Illinois drivers faced misdemeanor charges if caught speeding more than 30 miles over the speed limit. Since 2014, however, that law was made more stringent, and 26 miles per hour over the speed limit is now the threshold for misdemeanor speeding charges to be brought. Section 11-601.5 states that a person driving 26-34 miles per hour above the speed limit commits a Class B misdemeanor and a person driving 35 miles per hour or more over the speed limit commits a Class A misdemeanor.

criminal recordMany people who have been convicted of a sex crime in Illinois wonder whether the offense can be expunged. There are limited circumstances in which this is possible, but it can occasionally be done. As each situation is different, it is important to consult an experienced attorney for guidance in getting your conviction expunged.

What is a Sex Offense in Illinois?

Under Illinois law, a sex offense is a crime that involves sexual misconduct. This includes assault, child pornography, statutory rape (even if the alleged perpetrator is under the age of consent at the time as well), and others. If you are convicted of a sex offense in Illinois, then you will be considered a sex offender by the state of Illinois, and you may even have to register as such for a minimum term of 10 years on the Sex Offenders Registry.